Cricket World Cup


The group stages of the Cricket World Cup have drawn to a close and we some tasty-looking ties in the quarter-final stage.

The eight teams that have progressed from the first round are co-hosts New Zealand, fellow hosts Australia, reigning champions India, pre-tournament favourites South Africa, 2011 finalists Sri Lanka, England-beating Bangladesh, Chris Gayle-led West Indies and Misbah ul-Haq’s Pakistan.

New Zealand and India both came out of the group stages unbeaten, while Pakistan and West Indies needed final game wins to qualify.

There were some valiant attempts to reach the quarter-finals from teams such as Ireland, who beat West Indies during their campaign, and UAE, whose star player Shaiman Anwar hit a century on more than one occasion.

Quarter-final ties, with my predictions:

South Africa v Sri Lanka – South Africa win

 India v Bangladesh – India win

Australia v Pakistan – Australia win

New Zealand v West Indies – New Zealand win


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s