Australia win Cricket World Cup

Australia thrashed rivals New Zealand by 7 wickets to win the Cricket World Cup. Brendon McCallum was bowled out in the first over and New Zealand could only reach a measly 183 all out, with Grant Elliott hitting 83.

But Australia’s batters were never troubled at the MCG and Steve Smith and Michael Clarke helped them reach 186-3 to win the World Cup.

The game was watched by a crowd of 93,000 fans who saw their home team win their fifth World Cup.


Cricket World Cup


The group stages of the Cricket World Cup have drawn to a close and we some tasty-looking ties in the quarter-final stage.

The eight teams that have progressed from the first round are co-hosts New Zealand, fellow hosts Australia, reigning champions India, pre-tournament favourites South Africa, 2011 finalists Sri Lanka, England-beating Bangladesh, Chris Gayle-led West Indies and Misbah ul-Haq’s Pakistan. Continue reading “Cricket World Cup”

England lose to All Blacks but Wales thrash Pumas

England couldn’t repeat their amazing win last year against New Zealand on their third weekend of Autumn Internationals.

Despite taking the lead once, it lasted only two minutes, England were beaten by the best team in rugby 22-30.

Wales had better luck. Mike Phillips starred as they thrashed Argentina. Phillips, George North, Toby Faletau and Ken Owens scored tries in a 40-6 victory.

Ireland lost to Australia. The Wallabies were always in the lead and eventually won 15-32.